California Requirement Riles Apparel Decorators
May 31, 2011
decorators in California are outraged that they are being made
to register as garment manufacturers with the state, a requirement that
includes taking a $25 exam and paying an annual fee of $750 to $2,500. Worried
that the California requirement will set a dangerous
precedent that other states will follow, some decorators are taking the battle
to superior court, arguing that they shouldn't be classified as manufacturers.
can get away with this here they can get away with it anywhere," says Paul
Heully, owner of Lightning Ridge Screenprinting
and Embroidery in Ventura, CA. Heully was fined $300
– $100 per employee – for failing to have a garment registration certificate.
The state is also empowered to confiscate garments of unregistered
manufacturers, though that didn't happen to Heully.
officials rejected Heully's appeal of the fines at an
administrative hearing, and now he's taking the fight to the courtroom. Heully and other decorators contend that they should not
have to register as garment manufacturers because they are not making clothing
or related accessories. "No one would say that someone who puts a vinyl
sticker on a car is manufacturing the car," says Don Tillquist,
an embroiderer/screenprinter who was fined recently
for failing to have a garment registration certificate. "It's the same
thing with us. We're just putting an image on something that is already
authorities say the labor code states that "finishing" a garment
constitutes manufacturing. What apparel decorators do is finishing, and thus
they must register, says Debbie Jimenez, a deputy labor commissioner.
"They're doing something to the garment," Jimenez says. "It's
not a finished product until they do something to the t-shirt."
information, check out the full report at: http://bit.ly/kTwryj.